Etiquettes Of Social Life

The Five Branches of the Sharee'ah

The Sharee'ah consists of following five branches or parts:

  1. Aqaa'id  (Beliefs): e.g. beliefs in the Oneness of Allah Ta'aala  and the Risaalat (Prophethood) of Rasoolullaah  sallallahu alayhi wasallam
  2. A'maal  (Righteous deeds): e.g. Salaat, Sawm.
  3. Mu'aamalaat  (Transactions, Contracts): e.g. trade and commerce.
  4. Akhlaaq  (Moral character): e.g. humility, generosity, etc.
  5. Husn-e-Mu'aasharat (Beautified social conduct): i.e. good relationship with people, e.g. abstention from acts which cause others inconvenience, such as disturbing a person in his sleep.

Of the above five constitutional branches of Islaam, Muslims in general nowadays regard only two branches as being integral parts of the Deen. These are Aqaa’id (beliefs) and Ibaadaat (worship).

The Ulama-e-Zaahir (those Ulama concerned only with the external dimension of Islaam - with only the letter of the law) consider the third branch, viz. Mu’amalaat (mutual dealings and transactions) also an integral part of Deen.

The Mashaa’ikh (of Tasawwuf) consider the fourth branch, viz. Akhlaaq (moral character) also as part of Deen.

However, the fifth branch, viz. Aadaab-e-Mu,aasharat
(Social Etiquette) has been excluded by all three groups, excepting a few among them. In fact, it is believed that this branch is totally unrelated to Deen.

The other branches of the Deen are more or less all dealt with and discussed in lectures and discourses. On the contrary, no mention whatever is made of this fifth branch (Mu'aasharat)(). Hence, this branch has been assigned to the limbo of oblivion both theoretically and practically.

Importance Of  Husn-e-Mu'aasharat